How to use the Self-service menu option within the Power BI Embedded connector?

How to use the Self-service menu option within the Power BI Embedded connector?

Question

How to use the Self-service menu option within the Power BI embedded connector?

Answer

This is possible to achieve in Digital Hive release 2026.2.
Info
Please note that you will need Fabric Capacity within Power BI in order to do an Export/Email within the Self-service menu. Share feature will not work if you don`t have the Tenant feature enabled. 
  1. Log into Digital Hive as an Administrator. 
  2. Click on your Avatar and select Manage Digital Hive
  3. On the left hand side, Expand Content and select Connectors
  4. Look for the Power BI embed connector and click to open it 
  5. Click Settings
  6. Scroll down and look for the Properties section.
  7. Put a check mark next to "Enable self-service toolbar in embed" 

  8. Click on your Avatar and select Explore Content
  9. Open the folder that contains the Power BI embedded reports and open any report. You will notice the self-service menu on the top
  10. It has a Print, Edit, Save As, Export and Email me icons on it.
  11. You will not see a "Save" option here if you did not create the original report. 
  12. Click "Save As" to create your own personal copy of this report. 
  13. You can give it any name you want. 
  14. Close and re-open the report. 
  15. You will now see an icon to Delete the saved report. 
  16. You can now make any changes to the report by clicking on the Edit icon (add new pages, alter content). Once done, you can click the Save icon (4th icon on the list) for the changes to persist. 
  17. You can click the Export icon () to export the report to either a PDF or to Power point. 
  18. You can email the report as a PDF or a Power point file. For the email to work, you will need to configure the email server connection first. To do so, Please see https://support.digitalhive.com/portal/en/kb/articles/configuring-an-email-server
  19. You can share the report between users that exist on the same tenant. 
  20. Click the Share icon () and then search for the user. Click Share once you find the user. This will not work if you don`t have the Tenant feature setup. 

  21. When you open Explore Content, you will notice a Personal Content folder on the left hand side where you can see the newly created file in it. Any report you create will be saved in the Personal Content from now on. 
     
  22. Click Personal Content on the left hand side and click the 3 dots on any report on the right hand side. 

  23. You will NOT see a Delete option here. This has led to some confusion and caused some users to delete real content while in the Content Explorer.
  24. To Delete a report, click and open the report from within the Personal folder. 
  25. With the report open, you can see the self-service menu option in there.
  26. Click the last icon "Delete"
  27. You will get a Warning prompt
  28. Click Delete to confirm the removal of the report.